License Your Dog
All dogs three months or older must be licensed by January 1 of each year. Violators may be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation plus court costs.
An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime license is $51.50. If the animal is spayed or neutered, the annual fee is $6.50 and lifetime is $31.50. Discounts are available to older adults and people with disabilities. The small license fee helps the millions of dogs in the state by funding the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement.
Dog licenses are available from the Chester County Treasurer’s Office or other licensing agents.
PA Dog Warden Maureen Siddons (610) 909-5666
The Pennsylvania Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement is responsible for ensuring the welfare of breeding dogs and puppies in commercial breeding kennels. The office also enforces regulations pertaining to dogs that are classified as dangerous, and oversees annual licensure and rabies vaccinations for dogs.
Brandywine Valley Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) (484) 302-0865 https://bvspca.org/
Honey Brook Township has an agreement with the SPCA through 2023. The Township pays an annual fee plus a per animal pickup and incident fee.
Services provided by the SPCA include the investigation and enforcement of the PA Dog Law and the pickup of stray dogs and cats that are confined between 8:30 am and 5:00 pm 7 days per week.
The SPCA is not responsible for removing any dead animals from roadways or other property, nor do they enforce any laws related to “Control of Dangerous Dogs” and defers all enforcement of this statue to the PA Dog Warden.
Pennsylvania’s Dog Laws:
If your dog (3 months of age or older) is not licensed, you may be fined up to $300 per dog.
Dogs and cats (3 months of age or older) must have a current rabies vaccination. Owners of non-vaccinated pets may be fined up to $300, plus court costs. Have your dog or cat vaccinated by a licensed veterinarian, who can provide a vaccination certificate.
Your dog must be under control and supervised at all times. You are responsible for any damages caused by your dog to others or their property.
It is illegal to mistreat or abuse animals. Report suspected abuse to the SPCA at (610) 692-6113 or to the PA Animal Cruelty Hotline at 1 (866) 601-7722.
Purposely poisoning a dog, whether it is yours or someone else’s, is illegal.
You may not abandon or attempt to abandon any dog. You could be fined $1,000, plus court costs.
You may not keep a dog outside for more than 20 minutes in temperatures 32 degrees Fahrenheit or colder.
Puppies under eight weeks old cannot be bartered, traded, sold or transferred.
You must have a state kennel license if you keep, sell, transfer, adopt or foster 26 or more dogs in a calendar year. *
If your dog attacks or kills a domestic animal without provocation, it may be considered dangerous and you may face extensive fines and restrictions.
* Township Code regulations require that any Township kennel or homeowner who has 5 or more dogs is required to obtain a kennel license. Township Kennel regulations are available by clicking here.
This page was last updated January 8, 2021.